Everything You Need To Know About The Gluten-Free Diet

Diet & Fitness

The gluten is the name of a family of proteins present in cereals such as wheat, spelled, rye and barley. There are two main gluten proteins, gliadin and glutenin; being the first responsible for causing harmful effects.

The most severe form of gluten intolerance is called celiac disease, which affects about 1% of the population. This disease is caused by an autoimmune reaction when the gliadin proteins enter the digestive tract.

This can lead to nutritional deficiencies, severe digestive problems and other serious conditions, many of which are difficult to link to digestion. In addition there is another condition called sensitivity to non-celiac gluten; which implies an adverse reaction to gluten in people who do not have celiac disease.

In this sense, discover everything related to the gluten-free diet and those with foods that do not contain it to avoid adverse effects on health.

The 7 key aspects to follow a gluten-free diet

1.How to know if you are sensitive to gluten?

People with gluten sensitivity may have diarrhea, stomach pain, swelling, fatigue and depression. However, most people with celiac disease do not know they have it, since the symptoms can often be difficult to diagnose.

2.Is the gluten-free diet really effective?

A gluten-free diet has been shown to be effective for some cases of schizophrenia, autism and a type of cerebellar ataxia called gluten ataxia.

On the other hand, there is currently very little evidence that gluten is harmful in all people because apparently some tolerate it well. There is even evidence that many people with gluten sensitivity are really sensitive to a type of carbohydrate in wheat called FODMAP. In this sense, a diet low in FODMAP is more appropriate than a gluten-free diet.

3.Why is it a challenge to eat a gluten-free diet?

Sometimes a gluten-free diet is considered a challenge because ingredients containing gluten such as wheat are added to several different food preparations.

Therefore, to achieve a gluten-free diet is necessary to start reading the labels of everything you consume, being possible that you have to make significant changes in the food you eat every day.

On the other hand, if you think you have a serious illness such as celiac; it is advisable to consult with your doctor before eliminating gluten, as it can make it difficult to diagnose the disease if you are already avoiding it.

4.What are the foods with gluten that you should avoid?

There are several foods that always contain gluten, and therefore you should avoid them in a gluten-free diet. Among them:

  • Wheat (Any form, including whole wheat, wheat flour, wheat germ and wheat bran).
  • Spelled
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Spelled
  • Triticale
  • Kamut

In addition, other foods that usually contain gluten should be avoided unless the labeling specifies that they do not contain it:

  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • Cereals
  • Beer
  • Pastry
  • Sweet and salty cookies
  • Sauces and dressings, especially soy sauce.

Keep in mind that gluten can be found in all types of processed foods, so it is best to avoid consuming them.

It is also important to note that oats generally do not contain gluten, and it is well tolerated in people with celiac disease. However, sometimes it is processed in the same facilities as wheat, presenting traces of gluten. Also keep in mind that certain supplements and medications may also contain gluten.

5.What foods can you consume gluten-free?

There are a lot of healthy and nutritious foods that are naturally gluten-free. Among them:

  • Meats: chicken, veal and lamb.
  • Fish and seafood: salmon, trout, haddock and shrimp.
  • Eggs: all kinds, but those enriched with omega-3 are the best.
  • Dairy products: milk, cheese and yogurt.
  • Vegetables: broccoli, kale , Brussels sprouts, carrots and onions.
  • Fruits: apples, avocados, bananas, oranges, pears, strawberries and blueberries.
  • Legumes: lentils, beans and peanuts.
  • Nuts: almonds and nuts.
  • Tubers: sweet potatoes and others.
  • Healthy fats: olive oil, avocado oil, butter and coconut oil.
  • Herbs, spices and condiments: salt, garlic, pepper, vinegar and mustard.
  • Grains, cereals and seeds: quinoa, rice, corn, flax, millet, sorghum, tapioca, buckwheat, amaranth, and oats.
  • Chocolate black.

6.Can I eat processed foods without gluten?

A gluten-free diet can be very healthy, as long as you base yourself on a diet with the right foods for it. However, you can get numerous processed gluten-free replacement products such as: breads, cakes, buns and cookies.

In most cases these foods are highly processed and made with sugar and refined grains that are counterproductive to health. For optimal health it is best to choose foods that are naturally gluten-free and not processed.

7.How to eat in restaurants?

Most restaurants serve gluten-free dishes. For example you can skip the bread and tell the waiter that you do not want to take gluten. Instead, a protein source such as meat or fish with vegetables, a potato or rice on the side are excellent gluten-free options when you’re eating out.

It may be a good idea to check the website or call ahead to make sure the restaurant has gluten-free options.

Conclusion

You must be clear that if you suffer from celiac disease you cannot consume any gluten, even in small quantities. If you really want to succeed in a gluten-free diet there are many resources available that will support you in that mission. A good starting point is to get gluten-free cookbooks. At the end of the day, a gluten-free diet can be very healthy and satisfying if done well.

Related Wiki Link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_diet

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen − one =